UGG...UGG... THE C-DIFF BUG...

For posting new case histories and updates to histories only. Do not post general messages, replies or questions here.
AThurston
Long Time Contributor

UGG...UGG... THE C-DIFF BUG...

Postby AThurston » Wed Dec 07, 2011 2:36 pm

My name is Alletta, I live in Indiana, I have been a long term care/rehab nurse for 30 plus years, I was exposed from a soiled c-diff bed that had been soiled & left for 2 weeks. Second the facility was cited during annual survey for not using the right disinfectant to rid the c-diff. We had many patient's that acquired in house c-diff and also those that were admitted with it. There was 2 of us myself and a kitchen employee, she is rid of it as of now. Initially I had flu like flu,strep & sinus infection sx's, Rocephin inj, Biaxin by mouth, within 24 hours I was worse, Dr. Discontinued Biaxin, started Levaquin, within 48 hours admitted to hospital C-diff, severe dehydration, Flagyl by mouth. FLorastor, I never improved on Flagyl, put on Vanc by mouth for 2 weeks, improved, after completed reoccurrence within 5 days, readmit to hospital IV Flagyl, Vanc by mouth, Florastor. March reoccurence 8 days off Vanc, same treatment, hospital admission, dehydration, low potassium. Again April reoccurrence, GI Dr did taper down of Vanc for 8 wks, return to work each time, relapse,June reoccurrence 5 days after taper down Vanc. Thru out this I continued to follow protocol Questran, Florastor, yogurt, bleach, bleach,bleach... GI dr orders Rifaximin after completing 2 weeks Vanc. July ,10 days past completion relapse horrific, fell, think passed out,911 readmit refractory c-diff w/ colitis, severe dehydration, protein malnutrition, Treatment Flagyl IV, Vanv po, same treatments, TPN required via PICC line last 2 occurrences. GI dr's baffled, stated may have to stay on Vanc indefinitely, immune system checked & it was normal. Family Dr sent me Infectious disease dr, stay on Vanc, plan fecal transplant, fecal transplant end of