Debi's case history

For posting new case histories and updates to histories only. Do not post general messages, replies or questions here.

Postby Guest » Wed May 07, 2003 11:25 am

First- two comments: <BR>1) Thank you for all of your support these past 6 months. Even those of you that weren't aware..you truly have been my support group <BR>2) I hesitate, even now, to say I am over this. But I am cautiously optimistic. And I am anxious to write this to give hope to others who are experiencing this awful disease. <BR> <BR>I am a 44 year old married female. I have always been in extremely good physical condition. I work full time in Sales Management for a major corporation, and in 22 years have never taken a sick day. I have 2 teenagers (one away at college) <BR> <BR>This past November, I developed Pneumonia. I was given Zythromax, and after no response, given Ceflin along with it. 5 days later, still no response, so I was hospitalized for 5 days, taking IV Zythromax and IV Levequin. Once I came home, I continued with the Levequin and Zythromax for another 7 days. (that means 17 days of Zythromax, and others...) About one week after I was done with the antibiotics, I came down with what I know now as my first encounter with C-diff. At the time, the doctor prescribed diarehea meds over the phone, and told me to call if it got worse. It got MUCH worse, so she prescribed Flagyl over the phone and was told to come in the office the next day (this was the weekend) By then, my symptoms subsided. But, now I had dark urine. Silly me, (not to mention Silly Doctor!!) thought it was a bladder infection, and gave me MORE antibiotics to go along with the flagyl. THEN I started getting smart, reading all the material I could. Low and behold, one of the biggest side effects of flagyl is DARK URINE. But, by now, the damage was done... Anyway, I went through 3 additional courses of flagyl, anywhere from 2 weeks to a month at a time. But consistantly, 5 days after the pills were done