Shelly's Case History

For posting new case histories and updates to histories only. Do not post general messages, replies or questions here.

Postby Guest » Wed Aug 28, 2002 12:08 am

I am fairly new to this site but thrilled to have found it and want to share my story. <BR>Last July (7-11-01) I had a simple leg surgery to remove a benign tumor. I contracted a staph infection and had a surgery three weeks after the first to clean out the abcess at which time they placed a PICC line in my arm for I.V. antibiotics every eight hours for the next ten weeks. They also had me taking oral anitbiotics as well. Four weeks after the second surgery, I had to have a third one because the infection was not clearing up. Let me add that I am a Registered Nurse whose specialty is Labor and Delivery so I had never heard of C-Diff. The next to last anitibiotic I was put on (by Infectious Disease Docor)was Clindomycin. He said to let him know if I had mucous, blood, or diarrhea. At my next appointment, I told him that I was having 7-8 bowel movements/day and there was blood. He said he did not think I had C-Diff, pulled the PICC line, and switched me to oral Septra for the next 30 days. I continued to have same problems but assumed it would go away when I went off of the antibiotics. I went to Disneyland a few weeks later over Thanksgiving (off antibiotics)with my family and while riding It's A Small World (slowest ride in the park), it hit full force. I had a huge hot flash, broke out in a sweat, and was sure I would embarrass myself on the ride. Immediately ran for the nearest bathroom and had terrible diarrhea. This continued for the remainder of our trip. I assumed it was something I had eaten. While driving 18 hours home, I could eat and drink very little or we would have to stop at every bathroom. I waited another week before going to the doctor. He immediately thought of C-Diff because of my history and sent a stool culture. Unfortunately, they lost it and I had to repeat it.