Mary's case history

For posting new case histories and updates to histories only. Do not post general messages, replies or questions here.

Postby Guest » Tue Oct 16, 2001 3:09 am

I am a nurse and have often run tests on hospitalized patients for c. diff. I did not know what this was until this year! Below is how I am still learning about this disease. <BR> <BR>On Aug 13, 2001 I had a sudden attack of diarrhea. At the time I was working in Honduras, and it is not too uncommon to have diarrhea when in developing nations, so I was not immediately upset. After 2 days as it gradually got worse, I decided to ask a doctor with whom I was working what he had that might help. He gave me Doxycycline, which I took for 2 days with no change. Visiting a different doctor, I subsequently took Levoquin, then Flagyl and finally Vermox. I returned to the US with continued diarrhea, in fact it was getting worse. <BR> <BR>By the time I returned home, I was having 10-15 loose stools each day and having enough urgency that I needed to wear disposable underwear. During this entire time I did not lose energy, I found no blood in my stools and I almost never had any other digestive problems. The only problem I did have was one time when I became electrolyte depleted, but Gatorade quickly took care of that problem. I was always very careful to drink lots of bottled water, and after the electrolyte problem I paid attention t also drinking Gatorade daily. <BR> <BR>On Sept 11, 2001 I visited my regular family doctor who did the first lab tests to determine the cause of the diarrhea. The only test which came back positive was c. diff. His (and my) assumption is that I developed a parasite or infection in Honduras which was killed off by the antibiotics there (probably the Doxy), but the diarrhea continued when the c. diff developed from taking the antibiotics. Since I had taken Flagyl in Honduras without relief, my doctor here decided to skip that step and started me on Vanco. I took 125 mg 4