Lisa's Case History

For posting new case histories and updates to histories only. Do not post general messages, replies or questions here.

Postby Guest » Thu Aug 16, 2001 9:54 pm

I am a 34 year old from Pennsylvania who works in the medical field doing billing for a skilled nursing facility. (So if anyone has any type of insurance questions about their lovely managed care insurance, I will be happy to help. I've been doing this for 15 years and have found that these HMO's are a nightmare!!!) <BR> <BR>I was diagnosed in November 1999 with Mono and Lyme disease at the same time! <BR>I was given a 30day treatment of Amoxicillin to treat the Lyme. I was out of work 2 months due to these illnesses. About mid January 2001 I developed a cold/cough. My family doc prescribed a 10 day course of amoxicillin again and it didn't work. I stuck it out for another 4 weeks or so until the coughing (I believe to this day broke a rib,however, my doctor never felt the need do do a chest x-ray)got so bad I asked for medication(big mistake)and was given Biaxin. I took the Biaxin for 10 days and the bronchitis went away. <BR> <BR>Then the fun began. <BR>March 2000, I started with what I thought was my irritable bowel. (I was previously diagnosed with that 2 years ago and was on Donnatal to treat it.) <BR>I treated myself for about 2 1/2 mths with my irritible bowel medicine and couldn't figure out why it wasn't working. Things started getting worse by June. I had diahhrea for 13 days straight, the major abdominal pains and just general weakness. I called my gastroenterologist and they couldn't see me for 1 week. I said if you don't see me, I'm going to the ER. So needless to say, he saw me that day.(works all the time!) The gastro sent me for various tests. He was convinced it was my thyroid, which I knew it wasn't but......hey, he's the doctor. Stool sample showed c-diff and I was put on a 10 day course of Flagyl. Flagyl seemed to work. I only 2 minor side effects and they were, nause