Hello new to forum! 4 month c diff patient

This forum is for discussions related to C. diff. including symptoms, doctors, medical advances, medications, If you are a new poster (joined within the last month), you can post more often for two months from your date of joining. After that time, one post per day only about "you." You can post more often to support others. Post other topics in Free Form Discussion and Chat Forum.
jaredkep
New User

Hello new to forum! 4 month c diff patient

Postby jaredkep » Sat Oct 24, 2009 8:05 pm

Hello I would like to introduce myself to everyone in this wonderfull forum!
I have been fighting c diff for about 4 months after recieving 4 types of antibiotics for various infections. Has anyone lost most there taste and smell and have feelings of numbness throught body like novacaine after drinking vanco or is just me? anyways I wish everyone the best with there battle!!

Mommy23
Long Time Contributor

Postby Mommy23 » Sat Oct 24, 2009 9:09 pm

Welcome to the fun!!! I'm going on 5 months with this beast.
I had some side effects from oral vanco but not the ones you mentioned. I was told Vanco only stays in the gut, but I think otherwise. I actually read somewhere that 15% is absorbed in the blood stream. Are you taking a liquid Vanco, I'm not familiar with that.

I'm sure you will find much support here, everyone is really helpful.
Hope you get well soon.

jaredkep
New User

Postby jaredkep » Sun Oct 25, 2009 12:41 am

Yes liquid form what I've been told it's the same stuff they use for a IV they just mix the powder with water give me my script in a bottle.It tastes like rotten onions but now I can't really taste it.

jaredkep
New User

Postby jaredkep » Sun Oct 25, 2009 12:51 am