STUDENT4 MOVED FROM CASE HISTORIES

This forum is for discussions related to C. diff. including symptoms, doctors, medical advances, medications, If you are a new poster (joined within the last month), you can post more often for two months from your date of joining. After that time, one post per day only about "you." You can post more often to support others. Post other topics in Free Form Discussion and Chat Forum.
Bobbie
Administrator

STUDENT4 MOVED FROM CASE HISTORIES

Postby Bobbie » Wed Feb 19, 2020 4:01 pm

Hi everyone!

I am new to this support group. I am a 22 year old female in college. I say that with sadness because my senior year has been full of hospitalizations, medications, and pain. I was prescribed antibiotics three months ago for a skin infection which resulted in me getting heavy D and dehydration--C.Diff. To make matters worse, I was misdiagnosed with "Traveler's D" and given more unneeded antibiotics resulting in two hospitalizations with severe C.Diff. I have been on Vancomycin twice now and I just started Dificid after my second recurrence recently. If this fails, I have to do a FMT according to my GI. This has all been a shock because I was a healthy young woman my entire life. Now I am getting used to hospitals and taking medicine every day. Unfortunately, I had to withdraw from my school semester because of C. Diff so me and the bacteria are currently on bad terms lol. I now have anxiety and PTSD from C.Diff which causes just as much emotional pain as physical. A lot of times I want to give up because of this debilitating bacteria, but I know I just have to keep on fighting! I am praying for everyone to get cured and those who have gotten cured to remain healthy. I will update through my journey!

Sincerely,

The Student who wants to return to class

P.S. if anyone has success stories with Dificid please share. Any type of positivity is much needed! I appreciate it

Bobbie
Administrator

Re: STUDENT4 - MOVED FROM CASE HISTORIES