Young in Pain and Afraid

This forum is for discussions related to C. diff. including symptoms, doctors, medical advances, medications, If you are a new poster (joined within the last month), you can post more often for two months from your date of joining. After that time, one post per day only about "you." You can post more often to support others. Post other topics in Free Form Discussion and Chat Forum.
InPain
New User

Young in Pain and Afraid

Postby InPain » Sun Jan 05, 2020 5:07 am

Hello to All,

I'm sorry to see so many in my shoes on this forum. I sincerely feel for all of you.

I'm a 30 year old nurse that picked up C Diff in the hospital. I haven't been on antibiotics and always wash my hands until they're nearly raw to be careful as to not contaminate myself or other patients.

I dealt with a patient within the past few weeks that had C Diff and didn't think much of it. I do this often, use caution and don't think twice about it.

This past week, right after Christmas, I was driving home from work and I felt like I was coming down with something. Influenza B is going around the hospital, so I thought perhaps I was coming down with this, despite wearing masks, etc.

By the time I reached my home, I had chills like I never remember having in my life. Within a few hours, I was shaking and in front of a heater set at 80 degrees.

I finally fell asleep and woke up all throughout the night with severe diarrhea in the form of water. I "went" about 10 times that night and messed my bed by morning. I drug myself into the ER the following day, as I felt like death warming over. As I said, I had severe diarrhea, decreased urine output, terribly nauseous, severe abdominal cramping that nearly made me drop to my knees, chills and fever and couldn't eat or drink anything to save my life. I given 3 bags of IV fluids as I was dehydrated, and a script for bentyl and zofran with a diagnosis of gastroenteritis.