Infected with C.Diff strain from research lab

This forum is for discussions related to C. diff. including symptoms, doctors, medical advances, medications, If you are a new poster (joined within the last month), you can post more often for two months from your date of joining. After that time, one post per day only about "you." You can post more often to support others. Post other topics in Free Form Discussion and Chat Forum.
student
Brand New Poster

Infected with C.Diff strain from research lab

Postby student » Sat Nov 17, 2018 11:50 pm

Hello,

My story is kind of atypical, but I'd like to share it in case someone can offer advice. I'm an extremely healthy 25M who was prescribed doxycycline for 8 years to treat my acne. I am also a PhD student at the medical school of a major university. Anyways, the lab across the hall from ours does research on C.Diff and there is a high possibility I was infected by one of their strains (there have been several accidents and violations of safety protocol in the past). Initially I had moderate diarrhea that solidified after 3-4 days, but was left with severe pain and altered stool appearance (very weird/orange/grainy). I immediately suspected C.Diff because the pain was inflammatory, there was no doubt in my mind. I requested a stool test and it came back positive. I was very scared, whatever strains they work with are nasty and probably MDR (although the evidence suggests that drug resistance isn't as pronounced in C.Diff as other bacteria such as Pseudomonas).