Topical Antibiotics & C. Diff

Please limit your post to questions only. You can ask multiple questions in the post. (One post per person per day about yourself. See exception in General C. diff.Discussion.)
iluvmydogs
Regular User

Topical Antibiotics & C. Diff

Postby iluvmydogs » Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:15 pm

Has anyone here heard of someone getting C. Diff from using topical antibiotics like the ones used for acne? My dermatologist prescribed me Zianna gel, which contains 1.2% of Clindamycin. I have been using it for several months, I wasn't sure if it was possible this could trigger C. diff since I am having problems. I can't find anything on the internet and my doctor says no it can't, but you know how that goes.
"Friends don't let friends take Flouroquninolones"

raj138
New User

topical clindamycin

Postby raj138 » Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:25 pm

Topical Antibiotics can be absorbed in the bloodstream and can cause problems. My guess would be that it could potentially cause problems since it has clindamycin in it, but you might want to ask and ID doctor because they are usually experts w/ these kinds of things.

Allison
Administrator

Postby Allison » Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:36 pm

Yes it can happen, and it does....though very rarely.
Clindamycin is a huge offender when it comes to cdiff and there is not a good way of knowing if you might be one of the rare birds who would absorb enough to cause problems.
I'd guess that in your doc's experience, all his or her patients that have safely taken topical clinda. without troubles has led to the belief it "can't" happen.
Never say never.
It's always about the individual risk/benefit ratio. For me personally, the risk here would outweigh the benefit, so I'd stay away from clindamycin in any way shape or form. But you may be willing to assume more risk.

Maybe could discuss an alternative med with the Derm?
Last edited by Allison on Wed Oct 01, 2008 5:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

iluvmydogs
Regular User