Other symptoms with C diff?

Please limit your post to questions only. You can ask multiple questions in the post. (One post per person per day about yourself. See exception in General C. diff.Discussion.)
kaydaver
Brand New Poster

Other symptoms with C diff?

Postby kaydaver » Fri May 16, 2008 6:24 pm

Hi, I am a newbie here and on my third round of treating my antibiotic-induced c diff infection (1 Flagyl, 2 Vanco). I am freaking out.

Just as a preface, my username "kaydaver" is because I have worked in forensics for the past decade. It is a username I use frequently, but I am not goth nor interested in the "dark side". In fact, I am a 53 year old, full time employed, active grandmother. I hope the user name doesn't offend anyone here.

After reading many posts on the board, I have a couple of questions. Most people seem to have the common GI symptoms associated with a c diff infection (pain, bloating, cramping, and the "D" word), but does anyone else have any other symptoms associated with this? I have been telling my doctor about my extreme dizziness and ringing in my ears with this infection which resolved after the first round of vanco and recurred three weeks later when the infection came back. Not only that, but I have pain into my upper back and down my legs, even into my feet. It is also causing joint pain. This infection makes me feel extraordinarily terrible.

All of you on this board are amazing to have gone through many many rounds of this. I am inspired by your positive and hopeful attitudes.

fire7163
Long Time Contributor

Postby fire7163 » Fri May 16, 2008 6:43 pm

Kaydaver: