finished vancomycin last Sat,saw gi doc yesterday...

Please limit your post to questions only. You can ask multiple questions in the post. (One post per person per day about yourself. See exception in General C. diff.Discussion.)
arlyed
New User

finished vancomycin last Sat,saw gi doc yesterday...

Postby arlyed » Sat May 12, 2007 4:29 pm

I'm pretty new to the c-diff game. I've been treated 2x with flagyl and once with vanco 125mg 4x/day for 2 weeks. I finished the vanco last Sat. and dropped a stool spec. of at the lab on Wed. I saw my gi doc yesterday- the stool was neg. and she said that because the stool was neg I no longer had to be concerned about having c-diff. (cured!?) But today I am having some of the same symptoms that heralded my previous 2 relapses,ie: rectal burning/pain,itching,loose stool,and mild lower abd cramping. Should I request another stool culture? if so, when? I really would like to avoid another full-blown episode, if that's what's really going on. I feel like I'm being neurotic about this, but am having the symptoms nonetheless. Is it typical to have a neg stool culture after treatment then to become symptomatic in less than a week?
Any advice would be welcome - I'm starting to feel like I'm crazy!
Thanks
arlyed

Bobbie
Administrator

Postby Bobbie » Sun May 13, 2007 2:38 am

aryled,
Have you read Announcement: PLEASE READ BEFORE YOU POST in the first forum & Dr. Borody's & Dr. McDonald's articles?

Since I am not a doc., I can't tell you whether you have C. diff. or not, but you can have have a relapse after being off Vanco. or Flagyl any time between one day off med. to up to 3 or 4 months. (Even longer, but this is rare.)

You could have IBS -- symptoms are similar. Read FAQ-Three Day Rule & IBS.

I would ask to be retested. Best results are 10 to 14 (14 best) days off Vanco. or Flagyl. See FAQ-Tests.

C. diff. makes everyone a little crazy.

whitepine
Regular Contributor

Postby whitepine » Mon May 14, 2007 7:09 pm