Diagnosed 1 month ago:(

Please limit your post to questions only. You can ask multiple questions in the post. (One post per person per day about yourself. See exception in General C. diff.Discussion.)
boxer77
Regular User

Diagnosed 1 month ago:(

Postby boxer77 » Sat Mar 03, 2007 3:43 pm

Hi, Im new to the cdiff scene... I have been coming here for the past month reading and getting info, a realy helpful site!
It all started a little over a month ago, I had a sinus infection and I took 2 doses of antibiotic then the second day I had the "D", didnt knwo a thing about cdiff so I didnt call the doc till 2 weeks later, got symptoms with blood and mucus. So I did a stool sample and it came back positive for toxin A.
DR. put me on metronidazole 500mg 3 times a day, took it it helped. I did another cdiff test and it came back negative, well I took the test in the day of my last pill, so Im thinking I got what you call a false negative, cause I have blood and mucus again and watery stools, she reffered me to a gastroenterologist instead of perscribing me vanco, I didnt even meet the doctor yet, the dr. scheduald me for a colonoscopy on mon. They gave me this halflytely stuff to drink and it says on there not to take if your larg intestines are inflammed, Im thinking they are since I have the symptoms of colitis I had a low grade fever when it hit me again, I was only off metronidazole for a week and a half.
Im just askign for opinions on weather I should hold off on the colonoscopy, and get another cdiff test, or go ahead and prep for the scope.
This stuff is getting depressing:(

boxer77
Regular User

Postby boxer77 » Sat Mar 03, 2007 5:30 pm

I have to start the bowel prep tommorow, anyone have any details or suggestions?

Sheila1
Long Time Contributor

Postby Sheila1 » Sat Mar 03, 2007 5:36 pm