Diet Tips to Avoid Surgery?

Please limit your post to questions only. You can ask multiple questions in the post. (One post per person per day about yourself. See exception in General C. diff.Discussion.)
Oh Dear
Brand New Poster

Diet Tips to Avoid Surgery?

Postby Oh Dear » Mon Apr 27, 2020 2:57 pm

Hello! I am a female college student and have had c diff three times this year, including hospitalization, two rounds of vancomycin (one long/tapered) and one round of difficid, which ended in the beginning of February. I knew that lots of food was still bothering me and kept making me think I had c diff symptoms again, so I cut back and was basically eating a few cooked veggies and basic carbs and protein (not soy), having compiled advice from a few blogs I found, since the doctors only knew that dairy might be a problem (which I realized). Lost some weight the past few months. Went to a nutritionist through my doctor, because I was really not feeling well and wanted to get back to normal food. He suggested a low FODMAP diet, though he emphasized that the specific foods that are prohibited on the diet are not necessarily my problem, but that it would provide a way to eliminate and re-introduce food. I was also supposed to stay off of what I hadn't been eating, like raw vegetables. However, my more immediate problem became extreme pain going to the bathroom, to the point that I didn't go to the bathroom for days and lived curled up in a ball, eating only liquids. I thought it was hemorrhoids and treated it over the counter. I also took laxatives, fiber, stool softener, probiotics, etc. Finally was able to go to the colorectal surgeon, and it turned out to be a severe anal fissure, which I've been treating with prescription cream for 20 days so far. The surgeon said that I don't have to stick to FODMAP and can just eat whatever food feels good right now (I've put on some weight...) and take metamucil. Unfortunately, I'm not feeling much better (I just went back off of