Confused About Hand-Washing

Please limit your post to questions only. You can ask multiple questions in the post. (One post per person per day about yourself. See exception in General C. diff.Discussion.)
vthokie
Brand New Poster

Confused About Hand-Washing

Postby vthokie » Fri Nov 02, 2018 7:43 pm

Good evening. I’m a 64 yo female. I am a retired teacher of 38 years. I have been around so many infections, diseases, & things I don’t even want to think about. In early September 2018, I had an attack of diverticulitis. Got Flagll and Cipro after visiting the ER. Was doing OK until 9/18 then the “bottom” fell out. I was so sick, frightening D so I ended up at the ER. Spent 6 days in the hospital with c diff. Took my Vancomycin for 14 days and felt so much better.
Well, my bubble burst. This past Monday, it all started again…diarrhea like I had previously, loss of appetite, dehydration, & just feeling awful. Contacted my gastro group, had to poop in the hat, and am currently awaiting the results of the tests.
I have a question about hand-washing. I’ve always been a hand-washer. I do know that bleach is the only way to kill the c diff spores. After a BM, I immediately wipe down the toilet, etc., then wash my hands. I’m not cleaning my hands with bleach, only soap and water. If I then go into the kitchen to prepare a meal, are my hands not considered sterilized? I’m afraid to pick up utensils, open the refrigerator door, etc. without spreading spores. Am I being overly concerned? Should I wear gloves while cooking? Any thoughts would be appreciated.
I have been a lurker and have read most posts. First time poster. You all seem so caring for each other. Glad to be a member.

NanciT
Long Time Contributor

Re: Confused About Hand-Washing

Postby NanciT » Fri Nov 02, 2018 8:26 pm

Hello and Welcome to the site Please read the first thread for all new posters