Sicker After Vacomycin

Please limit your post to questions only. You can ask multiple questions in the post. (One post per person per day about yourself. See exception in General C. diff.Discussion.)
Sherr
Brand New Poster

Sicker After Vacomycin

Postby Sherr » Sun Aug 05, 2018 3:33 pm

Hi, I just finished 10 days of Vacomycin and I feel terrible. My stomach and head are really hurting. Is this normal? I am taking probiotics suggested by my RD. I had C diff with constipation and my stools became loose with the use of Vacomycin. My doctor told me there is no point in retesting for 3 months. Is this real? I wont know if I am well for months? I have many other health issues and have been on liquids for 10 weeks. I am terrified because I am a graduate student and I was working with cancer patients when this happened to me.

OCmama
Regular Contributor

Re: Sicker After Vacomycin

Postby OCmama » Sun Aug 05, 2018 3:50 pm

3 months is not right; someone on here will know better than me. But I think it is 2-3 weeks?

roy
Administrator

Postby roy » Sun Aug 05, 2018 4:48 pm

Get a new Dr!
Solid stool should not be tested for c.diff.
Drs are not supposed to order a test and labs are supposed to reject a test on solid stool.
Reason is that c.diff can be a normal gut inhabitant and trying to eradicate it can actually create the environment it likes and cause it to become a disease.
After treatment a Dr is not supposed to test to see if it's gone but some Drs will wrongly test after 2 weeks even if theres no symptoms.
Drs that treat just because of the test result are not following the experts instructions.
Quite a few posters ended up with full on relapsing c.diff because their Dr treated them when they did not have D.

Ajs
Regular Contributor

Postby Ajs » Sun Aug 05, 2018 5:20 pm