New to C Diff and haven't had antibiotics

Please limit your post to questions only. You can ask multiple questions in the post. (One post per person per day about yourself. See exception in General C. diff.Discussion.)
Misha
New User

New to C Diff and haven't had antibiotics

Postby Misha » Sun May 20, 2018 10:24 am

Hello all,

I am a 28 year old male and was diagnosed with C. Diff about 10 days ago after a visit to the ER with stomach pains and bouts of bad loose stools.

I haven't taken any antibiotics in over 10 years, and am curious as to how I could have contracted the infection. I am otherwise somewhat healthy, although I work with pigs.

My biggest questions are; Can I beat this infection without any antibiotics at all? (I was prescribed Flagyl in the ER but I'm a researcher with new meds and saw the horror stories) Has anyone been able to beat it with at home remedies?

roy
Administrator

Re: New to C Diff and haven't had antibiotics

Postby roy » Sun May 20, 2018 12:21 pm

Around 25% of people working in close contact with pigs would test positive!
Your exposed to c.diff every day without it causing harm.
Very few of those testing positive will ever need treating because in them it's normal gut flora.
It must be one of the worst jobs for picking up all sorts of bacteria but one of the best for boosting immunity!
It could easily be something else causing your symptoms and you just happen to be a carrier because of your job.

Flagyl is NOT the recommended treatment for c.diff so if your symptoms don't improve without treatment ask your Dr to check the latest guidlines.
In your situation Flagyl might even make it worse because it kills a lot of the good flora and leaves you open to a new infection.
Don't ignore severe symptoms but c.diff can go away on its own.
Even in c.diff caused by antibiotics around 20% will be cured by simply stopping the offending antibiotic and allowing the immune system to do it's job.