Newbie here and very depressed

Please limit your post to questions only. You can ask multiple questions in the post. (One post per person per day about yourself. See exception in General C. diff.Discussion.)
Bev Vonv
Brand New Poster

Newbie here and very depressed

Postby Bev Vonv » Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:00 pm

This is my first bout of c diff. I had a bout of diverticulitis and started on bactrim. Within 4 days I started having urgent needs to go to the bathroom. I would barely make it. I never had anything but mucus and small amount of stool. I called my Dr and he ordered a stool sample to be tested. Long story short It took 2 days for me to get the sample done properly. However, by the second day, as soon as I dropped off the sample, I called my Dr and he told me to go to the ER for evaluation. I was admitted with c diff and a uti and still had the diverticulitis. I was hospitalized for 8 days. I was sent home with a month of Vancomicin. I had such a hard time dealing with this scourge. Now, this is where I am at after just finishing the antibiotic. I assumed when you got done with the round of antibiotic that you would be "healed". Then I found this support group and read somewhere that the healing doesn't start till you are done with the antibiotic. What does that mean? Also, I have gone nowhere. I never know when I will need the bathroom, and I am paranoid about using a public bathroom. I would never want to pass this on to anyone else. I have to wait 2 weeks for a fecal test, so I am stuck in the house, not knowing what to expect with this mess, and really afraid to go anywhere. Is this what I should do until I test negative?
I will say my bowels have become seminormal. I still go often but it is almost normal. How long does the "healing" take? This is one of the worst things I have ever dealt with. I am so blue. :(

NanciT
Long Time Contributor

Re: Newbie here and very depressed

Postby NanciT » Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:52 pm