Colonoscopy and symptoms after c diff

Please limit your post to questions only. You can ask multiple questions in the post. (One post per person per day about yourself. See exception in General C. diff.Discussion.)
Ril
Long Time Contributor

Colonoscopy and symptoms after c diff

Postby Ril » Sat Oct 27, 2012 3:29 pm

I have been reading this site and have found it so helpful, but this is my first time joining and posting. I was diagnosed with c diff after 7 days of clindamycin and started on flagyl. I had d but never watery nor b or m and since I have had IBS all my life, it is hard to ever know what is going on. I tested negative after finishing the flagyl but I think my PCP ordered the test too quickly, although I probably was really negative. Less than 2 weeks later, I had a bad day with lots of motion and called my GI and told him I thought it was back and he ordered a course of vancomycin. Because I am an RN and know about c diff, I think I panicked and it was only bad IBS but he decided I should finish the vanco. That was a month ago. I had been taking florastor and questran for the past month and felt well, but a few weeks ago I switched to welchol, which made me really sick. I switched backed to questran 12 days ago but am still really nauseous. My GI ordered another test, which was neg and he doesn't want to do a repeat. He keeps wanting to do a colonoscopy, which he has been pushing for, to check for Crohn's or other disease, none of which I have any symptoms of. From reading this site I have found a lot of people with nausea and worsened IBS and abdominal discomfort during recovery but can it start a few weeks after feeling well? And has anyone not had a colonoscopy or is it routine to get one with c diff, if even a short course of disease? I don't think so but would love feedback. Sorry this is so long.

Ril- Post moved to Questions about CDiff

gm37
Long Time Contributor

Re: Colonoscopy and symptoms after c diff