Want FMT, need help/advice how to get it done

If you have had or are considering an FMT please share your experiences here.
thomlea
Brand New Poster

Want FMT, need help/advice how to get it done

Postby thomlea » Fri Sep 08, 2017 11:49 pm

This is my first time to this forum and I'm hoping I can get some help. 40 year old female (located in Minneapolis suburb) with 6 reoccurrences of c.diff. since Nov 2016. The c.diff. Infection was a result of several rounds of antibiotics for a bad uterine infection. Have had 2 rounds flagyl, 3 Vanco, 1 dificid, and now on Vanco again. Was working with an infectious disease doctor who finally referred me to a GI clinic that recently started doing FMT. He put me on Vanco again (after two trips to the ER), but the process to even get on his schedule to be seen by him has been beyond frustrating. I'm doing terribly and barely able to get out of bed and there is zero urgency. His patient coordinator today told me that "you really don't want to do FMT if you don't have to, so we try to avoid it if we can". I've also been told something differet with every person I have spoken too. It just seems like they have no idea what they are doing. This clinic is Minnesota Gastroenterology. There are also doctors who perform FMT at Mayo and the U of MN.

Here is where I'm hoping and praying for some help. Has anyone had a fairly recent FMT done at either Mayo or U of MN and can say whether the process to get things moving the FMT is easier? AND even better, does anyone have a referral or contact that might have an "in"? My infectious disease doctor has said he will refer me anywhere. The soonest I can get an appt with the GI to even talk to him is two weeks. And even with that, I don't really have a good feeling about the clinic.

Any advice? Help? Please?? My 5 and 6 year old deserve to have their mom back.

beth22
Long Time Contributor

Re: Want FMT, need help/advice how to get it done

Postby beth22 » Sat Sep 09, 2017 5:26 pm