2 week after fmt ibs now

We spend a lot of time talking about the bad news in this discussion group - here's the spot for the good news. If you've had c-diff and are now well, please tell us about it here.
chainsaw
New User

2 week after fmt ibs now

Postby chainsaw » Wed Feb 05, 2014 10:50 am

i had fmt two week ago R.I i know that c diff is gone felt 100% for three day now have ibs .when i was on med i felt at 100% not sure if i should have had a fmt .before could eat drink everthing without problem! when on med. don't know if staying on med was the answer.but i hope someone can tell about their fmt and did they get close to 100% in time i know i ask same ? before but would like to hear from more fmt user about their ibs and i hope good new .carol was nice to answer my ? and told me how to use this site. i am new to the comptur as you can see . any advice will be helpful thank you chainsaw.

amyc
Long Time Contributor

Re: 2 week after fmt ibs now

Postby amyc » Wed Feb 05, 2014 4:40 pm

You may need to get tested for C diff just to make sure it's gone. In about 10% of cases you could need either a single course of vancomycin or a repeat FMT to get a 100% cure. If the test is negative it's safe to assume you are dealing with IBS and then treat it accordingly. Pepto bismol works well to control symptoms, as does questran powder or colestipol tablets. C diff can cause damage to the colon and make you dairy intolerant for a while, so try getting off dairy products to see it it helps you. Yogurt and kefir are usually made with cow's milk and can cause the same problem as milk, ice cream, cheese, etc so drop those from your diet too. Soy milk is a good substitute for me and has the same protein as dairy milk.

chainsaw
New User

Postby chainsaw » Wed Feb 05, 2014 4:51 pm

did you have fmt done and how long ago do you have ibs now to or is it getting better with time thank you for you time chainsaw

getwellsoon
Long Time Contributor