80%?

We spend a lot of time talking about the bad news in this discussion group - here's the spot for the good news. If you've had c-diff and are now well, please tell us about it here.
chunderly
Regular Contributor

80%?

Postby chunderly » Mon Dec 09, 2013 9:48 pm

I've waited the six months and feel like I'm jinxing myself when I call myself a success story.

I'm an RN. Got c diff after amox for a sinus infection back in May, took one course of flagyl, which made me feel like hell, and no relapse. I want people who might visit this site to know that it is possible to beat this beast fairly quickly.

While I may be back to normal in the bathroom, having c diff did quite a number on my sanity. Before c diff I worked in a hospital 2-3 days a week. Because of c diff, I chose to get a new job in an outpatient clinic where my exposure to germs will be less. I also elected to go back to work full time to keep my mind busy and to not go down the road of anxiety and "what if?"

I have yet to take another round of antibiotics. I hadn't needed them for years until this last spring, so I'm hoping I'll have the same luck and good health for the next long while. I'm still extra super paranoid anytime I get a cut or runny nose or any other mild symptom that could potentially turn into an infection, which drives my husband crazy. For me, The anxiety and worry have been the worst after effects of c diff.

Neither my husband nor my toddler son have needed antibiotics since I got c diff and my fingers are crossed that they didn't somehow pick it up from me.

But life is more or less back to normal, and I am grateful. I thank everyone here who offered kind words and support when I was at my most panicked. Thank you all.

seekingcure
Long Time Contributor

Re: 80%?

Postby seekingcure » Tue Dec 10, 2013 12:08 am