Good lord... I've had it for HOW LONG?

Since c-diff is a disease of the "lower half", so to speak, we find that many of our members cannot refrain from discussing what comes out the bottom end. If you must do it, please do it here.
scottbp
Brand New Poster

Good lord... I've had it for HOW LONG?

Postby scottbp » Wed Mar 07, 2007 6:21 am

Ok gang, I'm a newbie here, so bear with me. I went to the doctor with a bronchitis complaint. He prescribed Biaxin, so I took it for 7 days. It turned out to be what my Mom calls a "napalm antibiotic"; i.e. it killed everything including the good bacteria in my stomach, and next thing I knew, I'm running a fever and developed the worst case of diarrhea imaginable... This went on 5 days straight. Everything I ate or drank just passed right through undigested. I have diarrhea on a not too infrequent basis, but I never saw the doctor about it before, I figured either it was a seasonal "stomach flu" or that I just ate something bad and eventually got over it.

But this time, it was particularly bad, so I went to see the doctor and he ordered a stool sample, and the lab called the next day and told me I had a "bacterial intestinal infection", and phoned in a prescription for Flagyl to my pharmacy. That night, I looked up Flagyl on the net and saw where it is prescribed specifically for c. difficile, and eventually I found my way to this board, where I saw every symptom I had spelled out in the FAQs. I called the doc the next day, and they confirmed that it was indeed c. diff.