RNs/Healthcare providers w/ c diff

Veteran support board users and new posters - use this forum to talk about whatever you want. Topics may be C. diff. related but are not required to be. Post here about posters' birthdays, holiday greetings, vacation plans, etc. If it doesn't fit in another forum, put it here.
kmr92
New User

RNs/Healthcare providers w/ c diff

Postby kmr92 » Wed Jun 07, 2017 2:24 am

Hello all,

I am a 24 year old RN who is about 9.5 weeks post Vanco. I was wondering if there were any other healthcare providers on this board who have had c diff. I have been back at work for about 2 months now. I was curious if anyone else in the healthcare field has anxiety about going back to work. I work in a hospital so I am exposed to all the germs you can imagine and it gives me such anxiety to think I'm going to reinfect myself (although I have stepped up my infection control practices BIG TIME).

georgina
Long Time Contributor

Re: RNs/Healthcare providers w/ c diff

Postby georgina » Wed Jun 07, 2017 3:13 am

I a nurse too , used to work in ICU and surgery, got moved to a endocrinology office but not because I live in fear of Cdiff ,it's because i don't wanna chatch something else since my immune system is so low but i really miss my old job.

NanciT
Long Time Contributor

Postby NanciT » Wed Jun 07, 2017 10:09 am

I had already left practice and started to teach although I teach in a hospital and CDIFF is all around. I changed so many things, I make extra effort for asepsis control and no longer eat anything while I am there. If I see rooms coded( most hospitals code) for CDIFF, I stay far away and no longer allow students in the rooms with any thing like CDIFF/MRSA etc.