About to start 2nd round of Flagyl

Veteran support board users and new posters - use this forum to talk about whatever you want. Topics may be C. diff. related but are not required to be. Post here about posters' birthdays, holiday greetings, vacation plans, etc. If it doesn't fit in another forum, put it here.
RyanW
Brand New Poster

About to start 2nd round of Flagyl

Postby RyanW » Thu Feb 09, 2017 7:31 pm

Hey Guys,

I'm new to these discussion forums, so i'll try my best.

I tested positive by stool sample on Jan 18 after all the terrible symptoms of Cdiff. My doctor put me on Flagyl 500mg twice daily for 10 days. I finished the first round of Flagyl on Jan 29. Everything seemed to be much better after around 3 days of starting the dosage, till about 6 days after i finished (which was Feb 5th). My stomach started to feel bloated again, and there was more blood back in my stool. I still haven't had any D since starting the medication, but the cramping and some blood/mucus has returned. So i went to the doc on Feb 8 and the doc said i shouldn't get another stool test done this soon, but she did prescribe a second round of Flagyl. My question to you all is, could this be part of a recovery stage or maybe even my bodies response to something i ate or drank? I did wait 5 days after my last Flagyl dose before any alcohol or mac n cheese. I'm torn on starting another round of antibiotics or getting another stool sample done first...... Also, has anyone actually been cured using the Flagyl? I have read many stories about people bragging on the Vanco working after the Flagyl failing to do the trick.

amyc
Long Time Contributor

Re: About to start 2nd round of Flagyl

Postby amyc » Thu Feb 09, 2017 9:03 pm