4 months later

You can do it here... but no profanity, naming specific names, etc. Try to be constructive. Suggestions to improve the board or discussion forums are always appreciated.
CorgiGal
New User

4 months later

Postby CorgiGal » Fri Aug 10, 2018 8:08 am

Hi everyone, I am 25F who had a month-long bout of C.diff 4 months ago that was cleared with one round of Flagyl (though I reacted badly to Flagyl, I hope to never have to take that horrible stuff again).

I'm just feeling very discouraged today. After 4 months free of C.diff I still don't feel well and don't have the stamina I used to. The good days outnumber the bad days now, but the bad days are, just that, bad. I have had D once a day for 3 days in a row and I feel achy, hot and flushed (but no fever), and worn out. I am in my 4th year of veterinary school and on a stressful rotation that requires 10-12 hour days, and yesterday had a feeling of heaviness and like I might pass out for 2 hours and had to sit down. I was shaking very badly, my insides just felt very sore, and my mouth was dry as could be. I am kind of scared because this is how my C.diff started 4 months ago. Although I haven't been officially diagnosed by a GI, I highly suspect I have some degree of IBS and some food intolerances post-C.diff, but can IBS really cause you to feel faint and painful? Can anxiety exacerbate GI issues this much? I was feeling fantastic on Monday and Tuesday, almost like my old self again.

I am on an anti-anxiety med and it's helped, but when these GI issues happen over 2-3 days I get exhausted. I just don't know how I am going to have a good career in such a stressful profession. I've wanted to be a vet all my life and I feel like it's being taken away from me by something I cannot control.

Thank you for listening, I just needed to vent and I know that there are people on this site that have had C.diff worse than me and know what it feels like.

NanciT
Long Time Contributor

Re: 4 months later