C. Diff Newbie: mental health

You can do it here... but no profanity, naming specific names, etc. Try to be constructive. Suggestions to improve the board or discussion forums are always appreciated.
DMS6991
Brand New Poster

C. Diff Newbie: mental health

Postby DMS6991 » Sat Jun 16, 2018 2:37 am

Hi. I am a 21 y/o college student. Earlier this month I contracted strep & was put on antibiotics. A couple short days after I finished my antibiotic round I noticed an increase in bowel movement. This diahrrea became progressively worse. Since I had zero other symptoms other than diahrrea I ate whatever I wanted this only intensified the diahrrea as they were not the most healthy food options.

By the 7th day my diahrrea had a lot of blood. Myanxiety was through the roof this night because I knew something was wrong. This same day my eyes became inflamed & were oozing. I had an intense anxiety attack & my family took me to the hospital. After a saline IV & many lab results as well as a rectal exam I was diagnosed with C. Diff. I was relieved I had an answer & could be treated but I didn't know the worst was yet to come. Because I worked on my college campus & was starting my summer course soon, I stayed in the dorm room alone despite my family's worries. I was incredibly fatigued , nauseous & in pain. I had to make sure I was eating, drinking fluids, taking meds (as I also developed conjunctivitis in both my eyes that same day which turned them a solid red color). Looking back, I know I shouldn't have gone through that alone. But I did. For a week.